where’s your heart?

This weekend will be the second weekend in a 6 part immersion series I’m doing in Anusara yoga. We meet once a month for 6 months on a Friday evening, all day Saturday, all day Sunday. In the end, it will be over 100 hours of study.

While I have been practicing for many years and have tried a lot of styles, I’m actually newer to practicing Anusara. But, this opportunity to deepen my practice outside of regular class and mat work really appealed to me and I snatched up the opportunity. Very often, any chance to further your practice lands you in a teacher training program, but I’m not sure that’s what I want right now. All I know is that I want to learn more and grow. I’ve really enjoyed the vibe of the yoga community in Eugene. There is a bigger emphasis on learning about the ancient texts and study of the other 7 limbs of yoga that I feel was missing in Portland. I think I’m here, now, for a reason.

One of the main focuses of Anusara is heart-opening, which is good for me, as I have a really tight shoulder and back area and so I find heart-openers really challenging. My reading for this next weekend has been getting put off, as my time has been very concentrated on getting the new nom! site up. But, it looks like I’ll be unlocking it tonight and then I have no excuse to not get with the program and hit the books!

Leave a comment

Filed under reflections

Leave a Reply

