lemme hear you say… aum

While I totally sucked at math in school, I do have some geeky tendencies surrounding numbers as an adult. My birthday is a times table: 9/9/81. I’ve always had this love of the number 9 and square roots as a whole, which takes it down further to 3.

What difference does this make? I think that love of the number 3 and it’s multiples (108, anyone?) has firmly rooted itself in my yoga practice. My beloved teacher Chia used to say that we do things in 3’s to help us recognize the beginning, the middle and the end and I really love that imagery.

I also love AUM (OM). While I don’t do much of it anymore, in my heart of hearts I think of myself as a musician first, so when I first learned of AUM it really resonated with me. (Ooh, punny!) So much so that I have it tattooed on me in two different places, but that’s another story for another day.

In reading materials for my immersion this weekend, there was this bit about AUM that further blossomed my love for it and my love of 3’s.

AUM- the primordial sound of the manifest universe composed of 3 sounds representing 3 stages of the creative cycle (creation, sustenance and dissolution) surrounded by the 4th aspect of supreme silence.

I love it. 🙂

Leave a comment

Filed under blahblahblah, random thoughts

Leave a Reply

