ouch, it hurts

Not in a big way, but man am I achy.

This past weekend was the 2nd weekend of the Anusara immersion that I’m participating in. Oof, am I sore! We spent a lot of time working on strengthening our scapulas and we did every variation of headstand and armstand that I’ve ever seen.

It made me think about how your focus and reasons for doing things change as you continue to practice. When I first began studying yoga in earnest, the idea of doing a headstand or handstand seemed awesome because it looked so bad ass. For realz, you look crazy cool, right? As I got deeper into my practice, I’ve become more concerned with alignment and finding my edge and so attaining some “crazy cool” posture hasn’t been very important to me. I’m happy working on getting my hips even in Virabhadrasana I.

But in our immersion we’ve worked on headstands and armstands a lot and while I think my immersion mates look awesome when I look around the room (not while in the pose- ouch!), what I get out of it is so different than what I thought I would, 10 years, 5 years, even 2 years ago.

I am continually amazed at how strong I am. We do all of our inversions with an assist so we don’t hurt ourselves, but regardless, I was able to get into tripod headstand from Prasarita Padottanasana! That is something I never would have dreamed of tackling. It makes me think about is the amazing potential for power that we all have within ourselves that we don’t get to see simply because we don’t believe it’s there. What incredible things don’t happen to us simply because we fail to believe?

The ability is there. I did a tripod headstand. I dropped back into full wheel from standing. I would have never believed I was capable of doing it, but I did and with grace.

Where else is this strength hidden in me? I’m excited to find out.

Leave a comment

Filed under off the mat, reflections

Leave a Reply

